Writer’s block? Oh puleez!

If only in explanation of my lack of discipline and my inability  to come up with a post in a whole two months,I found a perfectly credible excuse.Writers’ block.

There. Can I now  go back to wandering about? As normally happens in many of these cases,Google and Wikipedia become your close friends,till you can find your writing juices again. Here is what my new friends have to say:

“Writer’s block is a condition, primarily associated with writing as a profession, in which an author loses the ability to produce new work.  It can be trivial, a temporary difficulty in dealing with the task at hand. At the other extreme, some “blocked” writers have been unable to work for years on end, and some have even abandoned their careers.  It can manifest as the affected writer viewing their work as inferior or unsuitable, when in fact it could be the opposite.

The encouragement from the last sentence has given the me the confidence  to dole out   this concoction, call it watery soup-I mean it could simply be in  my mind. Eh they say it can take even years! You read that!…and  I am just suffering a few months! There is hope after all.

I have a friend who took to writing earlier despite studying to become an accountant,she soldiered on with her writing,wrote for every upcoming paper with their teething challenges,got into features writing for the dailies and ended up with a news room job in a tabloid-her tipping point.

Sadly,or gladly she graduated and choose to follow her true career. At that point much as I had the rumblings of a writing craving, I thought I had  overcome them when I didn’t have to write,or perhaps the demand was not that overwhelming and I  covered it up with a new job at an NGO.

A decade later and the craving hits threatening levels and I find myself connection dots backwards ala Steve Jobs picking out what I knew and never put to use that learning something new to back up my passion.

Just like my friend who when asked why she quit, her answer was ‘that was a passion I took so far’. I am at a junction of sorts,having gone into yet another form of  media.But more of that later… and who needs that talk when you can blame it all on writer’s block!

About njukimoments

Sharing experiences whenever they happen. Sit. Let me tell you a story.
This entry was posted in just just and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

